Per Alaska medical conditions that can be treated by medical marijuana
Qualification for treatment using medical marijuana depends on if the patient has a qualifying debilitating health condition. To know if they qualify, the patient should get a recommendation and a signed statement from a registered physician. The provisions of Section 17.37.070 provides for the qualifying health condition that will qualify for medical marijuana as follows:
In addition to the above listed, the section further provides that there may be other illness that produces:
Chronic or severe pain,
Seizures by epilepsy,
It also includes other medical conditions or treatment under regulations approved by a petition submitted under AS 17.37.060.
Having an MMJ card is very beneficial to the holder. Some privileges are open to the holders, unlike marijuana recreational users. In Alaska, the MMJ cardholder faces no legal risk of carrying marijuana for so long they have the card. A patient with an MMJ card will not be legally implicated if found with the appropriate amount of cannabis. A licensed physician's recommendation backs up an MMJ card. The physician will usually put their stamp of approval which supports the use of marijuana for therapeutic purposes.
An Alaskan in possession of an MMJ card will save money because of the cost of getting the doctor-recommended drugs and other medication. Due to the legalization of marijuana, Alaska has lowered and exempted taxes on cannabis, especially the one obtained with a medical marijuana card. Alaska is the only state that taxes marijuana based on weight; a marijuana grower will usually pay an excise tax of $50 for one ounce. Also, another way to save costs is for cardholders to cultivate the cannabis plant. Sec. 17.37.040 of the Alaska Statutes backs up growing marijuana and possession of marijuana for medicinal. The patient or the caregiver can possess one ounce of marijuana in usable form. They can also grow six marijuana plants, to which there must not be more than three mature plant and flowering plants at a time. The MMJ card also allows the holder to buy the paraphernalia associated with growing marijuana.
An MMJ card is valid for one year period. The patient may use the MMJ card in any of the boroughs in the state during its validity period. The card is only valid in Alaska because the state does not have a reciprocity law with other states. When the card becomes invalid after a year, the holder has to meet with their physician to give them a newly signed recommendation. Failure to do this, the holder will be unable to come under the purview of medical marijuana law.
A holder wondering if their medical marijuana card from another state is valid in Alaska, the answer is No. The Alaska medical marijuana law does not have reciprocity that recognizes out-of-state issued MMJ cards. However, it is still legal to purchase up to one pound of marijuana for recreational use in Alaska. However, carrying more than one pound is a misdemeanor that attracts a fine of up to $1000 or a jail time of one year.
Yes, a medical marijuana identification card issued in Alaska is valid in other states participating in medical marijuana reciprocity programs. With an Alaskan MMIC card, a holder can purchase and possess the allowed ounce of marijuana in such states. Carrying more than the designated amount of medical cannabis product may lead to criminal liability for the holder. However, Alaska statutes on marijuana laws do not recognize medical marijuana cards issued in other states. The 16 other states participating in the medical marijuana reciprocity are:
No, Alaska does not accept out-of-state-issued medical marijuana cards. A non-resident with an out-of-state-issued medical marijuana card cannot purchase marijuana from any operational retail marijuana store in Alaska. However, the state allows recreational usage of marijuana for out-of-state users if they are 21 years or older. They are allowed to possess an ounce (28 grams) and give up to an ounce to another 21 years old. However, crossing the state line with cannabis is illegal under the law. Alaska Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO) Marijuana Control Board is the regulatory and quasi-judicial agency that controls the usage of marijuana in the state. Its regulations will also apply to non-residents.
To purchase recreational marijuana in Alaska, the individual must show proof of age in a government-issued ID. The state has no purchasing limit, but the possession limit is still one pound. Falsifying of age is a violation with a possible fine of up to $400.
No, the use of marijuana, whether for recreation or medical purposes, is still illegal under US Federal Law. Even though the state has legalized the use of marijuana for medical purposes via the MMIC, it is still being criminalized under federal law. Since it is illegal to grow, sell or use marijuana, the individual will be charged and prosecuted under the federal drug laws. Under federal employment, individuals may be subjected to a random drug test; if they test positive, their employment can be terminated. Even individuals looking for federal employment may get denial if their drug test is positive for marijuana. Conviction under the federal laws will preclude such people from privileges they will typically enjoy. For instance, to purchase firearms, the applicants must complete Federal Form 4473, a section asking for unlawful marijuana use. Even MMIC holders in Alaska can get a firearm rejection. Also, an MMIC holder will lose out on federal student financial aid and other Work-Study programs.
The Consumption of marijuana in public places and, more specifically, on federal land is illegal and is a misdemeanor for first-time offenders. Under federal law, the offenders may get a fine of $1,000 or a maximum of one year in federal prison.