Yes. Alaska allows medical and recreational marijuana users to consume smokable marijuana products in the state.
No. Smoking in public is prohibited. Alaska Smoke Free Law bans smoking in public places to protect the health of residents and visitors. Public places include highways, transportation facilities, parks, schools, playgrounds, prisons, hallways, lobbies, businesses, and other communal areas in apartments or hotels. Persons caught smoking in public may be fined up to $100.
No, you cannot smoke weed in a vehicle in Alaska. Even if the car is parked, it is illegal to use cannabis in public. Weed must remain in the cabin of a vehicle when transported within the state. In Anchorage, weed must be kept in an unopened sealed container in the car's trunk or behind the last row of seats.
You must be 21 years or older to smoke recreational marijuana in Alaska. However, if you are a qualified medical cannabis patient with an unexpired Alaska medical marijuana card, you may be eligible to purchase smokable forms of medical marijuana to treat your condition.
Weed smoking is legal in private residences and retail stores with valid onsite consumption permits. However, some property owners or homeowner associations may enforce policies prohibiting marijuana use on their property. Therefore, if you are living in a rented apartment, you should check with the property owner to verify if weed smoking is permitted on the property.
Also, employers may have workplace policies prohibiting marijuana use at workplaces. Hence, it is recommended that you refrain from smoking cannabis at work. Note that persons caught possessing or smoking weed on federal property, such as federal courthouses, national parks, military bases, and national monuments, will face federal prosecution.